Announcements

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

FAQs

Please see below the most popular frequently asked questions.

Loading article...

Loading faqs...

Ongoing Issues

Please see below the current ongoing issues which are under investigation.

Loading issue...

Loading ongoing issues...

Music downloading to SD card, yet still taking up internal storage space (Galaxy S7/Nougat).

Music downloading to SD card, yet still taking up internal storage space (Galaxy S7/Nougat).

Greetings,

Hello, 

I've been using a Galaxy S7 with Spotify for a few months now. I've never been able to get my music to save to the micro SD card. Last night I upgraded to Nougat 7.0. I did a complete device wipe with the new update and was hoping this would resolve these problems. It didn't. 

Here's what's happening: If I use a file explorer to view my files, it appears Spotify music is indeed saving to my micro SD card. It seems the music files live here: SD Card -> data -> com.spotify.music -> files -> spotifycache -> storage.

I've looked around on the internal storage and can't seem to find any music files saved from Spotify. Yet, any music I download offline seems to eat up my internal storage. If I have 6GB of music stored offline, Spotify shows as 6GB app when I review "internal storage" under system settings. 

I've done the following to try to fix this:

-Completely uninstalled Spotify

-Reformatted micro SD card using the phone's format tool

-Logged out of all online devices

-Reinstalled the app after completely wiping it off the phone

-Confirmed Spotify settings indicate music downloads to SD card (the app defaulted to this).

I'm using a Galaxy S7 Edge. Android version 7.0.

What's going on here? Is the phone downloading the music twice? I can't find any offline music stored to the internal storage, yet downloads to the SD card seem to eat up internal storage too. 

Any suggestions would be appreciated. 

24 Replies